Log in

AMEJA Announces Jury for Inaugural Award

10 Aug 2022 11:20 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

AMEJA announced its jury panel, which includes award-winning journalists from NPR, Washington Post, CNN, MSNBC, and NYU's Journalism School

New York, NY - The Arab and Middle Eastern Journalists Association (AMEJA) has launched a series of awards to highlight exceptional work by and about Arab, Middle Eastern and North African communities. AMEJA will present three awards along with a $500 cash prize for each winner. The categories are as follows: 
  • Best coverage of the Middle East North Africa (MENA) region

  • Best coverage of MENA immigrant and heritage communities in North America

  • The Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award, named after one of AMEJA’s founders to recognize the work of an AMEJA member

The first two prizes are open to all journalists and will be voted on by a jury panel. The jury panel includes:

  • Mohamad Bazzi, NYU Journalism Professor and Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies Director

  • Nima Elbagir, CNN Chief International Investigative Correspondent

  • Leila Fadel, NPR Morning Edition Host

  • Kareem Fahim, Washington Post Middle East Bureau Chief

  • Ayman Mohyeldin, MSNBC Host of ‘AYMAN’

  • Jason Rezaian, Washington Post Columnist and #544Days Podcast Host

The Walid El-Gabry Memorial Award will recognize the work of an AMEJA member and will be voted on by AMEJA’s members. 

"Promoting accurate and nuanced coverage of the Middle East and North Africa regions and people is at the core of our mission," said AMEJA President Hoda Osman. "We're excited to launch the AMEJA Awards so we can lift up exceptional news coverage by journalists working tirelessly to get the story right."

AMEJA is accepting submissions now through August 28, 2022. To be eligible, the work must have been published, in English, between January 1, 2021 and August 1, 2022.All formats are welcome, from print to podcasts and everything in between. AMEJA plans to announce the winners in the fall of 2022.

The link to submit a nomination is here.

For more information or to speak with a member of AMEJA’s leadership team, contact

©2022 All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software